Awards ::: Museum für Moderne Kunst Frankfurt am Main


The art collection once amassed by the entrepreneur Karl Ströher forms the core of the MMK’s holdings. The purchase of this collection by the city of Frankfurt in 1981/82 was the decisive event leading to the museum’s founding. The presentation of the Karl Ströher Prize continues this tradition and is an expression of our indebtedness to Karl Ströher and his descendants.

The prize of the Karl Ströher Stiftung – the foundation established in keeping with the wishes of the entrepreneur, who died in 1977 – has been awarded many timessince 1986. The advisory board, on which members of the Ströher family serve, meanwhile presents the prize to young artists every two years, thus ensuring the production of artworks and their purchase for the MMK collection.

Karl Ströher Prize recipients: Tobias Zielony (2011), Cyprien Gaillard (2009), Melvin Moti (2007), Marc Brandenburg (2005), Tobias Rehberger (2003), Michael Kalmbach (1999), Miriam Cahn (1997), Udo Koch (1995), Heiner Blum (1993), Andreas Slominski (1991), Rosemarie Trockel (1989), Christa Näher (1987) and Dieter Krieg (1986) 



Baloise Art Prize

Baloise Art Prize
Every year since 1999, the Baloise Group has awarded two young artists its Art Prize with a purse of 30,000 CHF each. In addition, the Baloise purchases workgroups by the prize recipients and donates these works to two major European museums.
For the years 2014–2016, the MMK was chosen to receive the donations. Each of the prize recipients and their works will be presented and honoured in an exhibition at the MMK.